India are gearing up for the rescheduled fifth Test match against England. The Rohit Sharma-led team sweated it out at the nets in the lead up to the much-awaited match.

India and England will begin the fifth Test on July 1 at Edgbaston, Birmingham. India are currently leading the five-match series by 2-1.

Ahead of the match, India will play a practice game against English county team Leicestershire, beginning June 23 at Grace Road, Leicester.

Meanwhile, England, who are hosting New Zealand for a three-Test match series, will take on the world champions in the third and final Test on June 23. Under the new captain and coach duo, Ben Stokes and Brendon McCallum, England have taken an unassaliable lead 2-0 against New Zealand.


Virat Kohli and Joe Root, who both led India and England last year respectively, stepped down from the Test captaincy earlier this year. While Kohli relinquished the role after India lost the Test series against South Africa, Root quit the captaincy following the Ashes hammering in Australia and series defeat against West Indies.

Rohit Sharma and Ben Stokes will lead India and England in the upcoming fifth Test next month.

Cheteshwar Pujara, who was dropped for the home series against Sri Lanka, bagged his ticket to the UK after regaining his form by scoring 720 runs for Sussex in England’s County Championship. He registered two centuries and a double hundred in April-May this year.

India Test squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rishabh Pant (wk), KS Bharat (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur , Mohd Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Prasidh Krishna.

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here